Traversing the lands of Skyrim, just like any old Nord.

Day Eight: From Grotto to City

Basically, this is a play-through of the PC game The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, but in a non-linear fashion. I am playing the game as if I was an average Nord, kind of like an NPC (Non Player Character) being thrown into the position of the Dragonborn, and I’m acting and reacting like a normal Nord would.

Yesterday I travelled to Bloated Man’s Grotto and took on a werewolf as a favour for the Daedric Lord Hircine. It was a brutal, bloody fight, but I came out the victor upon slaying the werewolf, Sinding (I realised I have been spelling this as ‘Sindig’ up until now. Oops!). Today I’m going to head over to Whiterun and see what’s going on there.

Although Falkreath wasn’t a complete failure, I still haven’t achieved what I originally set out to achieve by travelling there. I haven’t smelted my piles of ore! I’m 90% certain that I will find a smelter and a proper blacksmith in Whiterun and so I decide that today I’ll head there! I sleep in for a bit after the craziness of last night and I try on the armour I received for killing Sinding, ‘Saviour’s Hide’. I look kinda weird, but in a scary, badass kind of way. It is, unfortunately light armour. Although it gives me 15% magic resistance and 50% poison resistance, it’s armour rating is lower than my iron armour. I value it at 2679, which is a ton of money for me, so I’ll probably sell it for a hefty sum in Whiterun. I take my leave of this dreadful grotto and press on towards Whiterun.

Leaving the GrottoThe trek to Whiterun is far more eventful and took far longer than it really should have. It started with me chasing a deer all around the place for about an hour and a half before I finally killed and skinned it. This deer would just not give in. I felt pretty triumphant after the slaughter, though. I also came across several packs of giants, all of which I skillfully avoided (by bolting the hell away). I nailed a fox and skinned it, found another deer and chased it for about a half hour, picked a bucket load of flowers and caught a few butterflies and took on a group of bandits with the help of a few guards out in the wilderness before finally reaching Whiterun at about 5pm. It took me almost all day to travel the short distance from the grotto to Whiterun. That almost seems pathetic. On the way, however, I did level up to level 6. I increased my stamina by 10 and nabbed the archery perk which increases bow damage by 20%.

Just outside the stables outside the city, there is a dude named Bjorlam who offers to take me to any of the hold capitals in his carriage. For a small fee, I can hop in the back and skip the long journey. This, however, seems a little like cheating my own rules, to me. It’s not quite fast travel, but it’s not quite walking everywhere either. So this brings up the question, Should Boziik be allowed to take Bjorlam’s carriage? What do you think? Post your thoughts in the comments below.

I stop in at the stables and find out that the price of a horse in Whiterun is 1000 gold. I have around 900, so after selling the Saviour’s Hide armour I might consider buying one. I notice a small Khajiit camp and so I stop in and say hello. I make small talk with one of them about their hometown Elsweyr and check out their wares, but there’s nothing of interest to me at the moment. On the path into the city I’ve overheard more than a few people talking about dragon attacks and Helgen and weird stuff like that. I guess this dragon stuff must be serious. I head towards the city gate when I’m stopped by a guard who claims the city is off limits due to the dragon threat. I choose to persuade and tell him that I have news of the dragon attack in Helgen. I don’t know what news there really is, though. A dragon came, a dragon conquered. That’s about it. He lets me through and I open the gate.

Entering the glorious city of Whiterun.Dear God… Now this is a city! Riverwood and Falkreath compared to Whiterun is like two ants compared to a sabre cat! So glorious, so majestic! This is where I belong. I overhear a conversation between a lady who appears to be a blacksmith and a dude named Idolaf Battle-Born about her filling a huge order for the imperials that she’s not very happy about. When they part ways I say “Sup” to Idolaf. He simply poses the question “Gray-Mane or Battle-Born?” Bjorlam told me about this family feud going on between those two families. Being quite the cunning individual I am, I reply, “Battle-Born”, which makes Idolaf immediately like me. He seems like a nice enough bloke.

Kicking Mikael's AssI head into the Bannered Mare which is the local Inn. This appears to be the hot-spot at this time of the evening. I make small talk with a few of the locals, threaten to behead the bard, Mikael, and chat-up the chick behind the counter, Hulda. I talk to a lady named Carlotta who tells me that Mikael hasn’t been treating her with the respect she deserves and he’s been claiming that he’ll win her like a Nord wins a beast or something like that. She wants me to talk to him. All these damn lutists, they’re all the same. Arrogant bigots. I turn to him and tell him to leave her alone. He, however, does not want to oblige. I stare him in the eyes and challenge him to a brawl, as he’s left me with no choice.

It is an easy victory. They obviously don’t teach you how to throw a punch at the Bard’s College in Solitude. No matter how many blows he lands on me he barely deals any damage at all. Before you could say “Hey Mikael, you sound like a drowned rat when you sing”, he’s curled up on the ground in submission. He agrees to leave Carlotta alone, and she pays me 250 gold for my services! What a sweet deal.

I take a seat next to the fire and I buy a couple of bottles of ale, some baked potatoes and some bread from Saadia. I guzzle a bottle of ale and munch on some baked potatoes and an apple for my dinner. I chill for a bit then pay Hulda for my room and head on up for a sleep after a successful day. In the morning I will head over to the blacksmith’s and hopefully begin my smithing career.

Don’t forget to answer the question Should Boziik be allowed to take Bjorlam’s carriage? in the comments below!

7 responses

  1. charlie199

    I think Boziik should be allowed to take Bjorlam’s carriage. It could be very, very time consuming and frustrating for you if you were to have to walk all the way to Solitude or Winterhold, and we don’t want you to get frustrated and give up!

    February 5, 2012 at 6:01 pm

  2. Boruk

    I also think that it fits that he can use the carriage its not real fast travel. And nice stories 😀

    February 6, 2012 at 8:46 am

  3. Shadow

    This is my favourite post yet! I’m really loving Boziik’s adventures! Keep them coming because they’re amazing! 😀
    This blog should be more popular!

    As for whether or not Boziik should be allowed to take Bjorlam’s carriage, I don’t see why not! It’s a legitimate way to travel, unlike fast travel, which is just like teleporting. :p

    February 6, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  4. Ciax

    yeah, defs take the cariag, its not cheating, its just like taking a taxi somewhere.

    February 6, 2012 at 7:41 pm

  5. Ciax

    *carriage, also forgot to say this blog just keeps getting better.

    February 6, 2012 at 7:41 pm

  6. Nacho

    You know, I’ve been following your blog since it started, even though I know lots of stuff happen when you walk from one place to another, it just seems right, it’s not fast travel and it adds up to the story, also, keep em’ coming! Loving these blogs!

    February 13, 2012 at 10:33 am

  7. Happy Reader

    The carriage is an authentic method of travelling.

    By the same reasoning as you consider riding a horse, riding the carriage is perfectly fine.

    Keep at it.

    All hail Boziik

    February 18, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Leave a Comment

