Traversing the lands of Skyrim, just like any old Nord.

Day Ten: The Tale of The Hardy Nord and The Evil, Crazed, Armoured, Manic Khajiit Bandit

Basically, this is a play-through of the PC game The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, but in a non-linear fashion. I am playing the game as if I was an average Nord, kind of like an NPC (Non Player Character) being thrown into the position of the Dragonborn, and I’m acting and reacting like a normal Nord would.

Yesterday I delivered a sword forged by the blacksmith, Adrianne Avenicci to the steward up at Dragonsreach as a gift for Jarl Balguuf. This somehow led to a conversation about some dragons returning and I seem to have agreed to trek to Bleak Falls Barrow. I don’t remember how this happened, but it did, and today I begin the journey there, not far from Riverwood.

Dramatically walking out of WhiterunRising early on day ten, I think to myself that I really have been back to Riverwood way too many times. The divines must have some stupid, crazy plan for that sorry little town without a smelter. It seems that today’s quest is the biggest and most important one yet. Hopefully, if I succeed in this quest, it will lead to a long, prosperous relationship between me and the Jarl of Whiterun. He’s quite a beast of a nord, too, so it’d be a good idea to do this quest right. I head downstairs into the common room of The Bannered Mare and sit next to the fire. I munch on some bread for breakfast, catch the latest goss from Hulda and head off on my way to Bleak Falls Barrow.

Consulting my map, I realise that I can cut off a large chunk of the journey if I take a shortcut through the woods! It could potentially be dangerous, as no one really knows what kinds of evil beasts lurk in the woods of Skyrim. Actually, I do know what kind of evil beasts lurk in the woods of Skyrim because I’ve played the game a lot. Boziik doesn’t have a clue, though. Regardless of this, as I begin, the journey is peaceful, and thankfully I haven’t run into anything scary like an evil, crazed, armoured, manic Khajiit bandit yet.

The Evil, Crazed, Armoured, Manic Khajiit BanditIt’s not long before I run into an evil, crazed, armoured, manic Khajiit bandit. I freak out as soon as the peaceful strolling background music punches me in the face with a pulsating string rhythm. This causes the hairs on the back of my neck to rise as I draw my sword and search for the source of this fast, scary music. I don’t find any orchestras nearby, so I decide to search for a monster or a bad guy instead. Then I see it! The evil, crazed, armoured, manic Khajiit I was hoping I wouldn’t run into! This Khajiit is tough! He doesn’t waste any time and begins hacking the life out of me! I skillfuly wield my steel sword and my iron shield combo, blocking blows and landing blows in succession. This continues for a good while, neither of us doing much damage at a time. It’s not long, however, before my health dwindles to a precariously low level. I quickly guzzle a healing potion, praying it will get me through the rest of the fight. Thankfully, it does! And before long, Boziik whips one of his classic badass maneuvers and impales the Khajiit in slow motion. I loot some coins and a potion from his body and continue on my way.

Tower BanditsThe journey continues fairly peacefully. I try to sneak up on a deer and slaughter it, but it hears me coming from a mile away and gets the hell out of there. I do manage to kill a bunny and harvest a few flowers and mushrooms, though. Soon enough I stumble upon a very tall tower. I notice a few bandits hanging around out the front. I don’t feel like getting into a fight right now so I try my hand (or my foot) at sneaking past. Apparently I sneak like an obese frost troll wearing ebony armour, though, because they immediately notice me and the first one comes charging straight at me! Thankfully he’s not too tough to beat, his armour mustn’t be protecting him from my enormous biceps (nor the cold and snow, it looks like). I make short work of him as the second one fires a continuous stream of arrows at me. A female bandit emerges from the depths of the tower and tries to take me on. She’s no match for the might of Boziik Gein, and I decapitate her skull. The third guy with the bow is easy, I don’t even give him enough time to pull out his sword before I pull a slow-mo badass move on him. I levelled up during the fight, and choose the perk to make myself 20% harder to detect while sneaking, because, as I said, I sneak like an obese frost troll wearing ebony armour. I loot some gold, a couple of potions and some salt I find in the upper levels of the tower. I find some food that appears to be fresh and uneaten, but I just can’t bring myself to steal and eat someone else’s food. Their salt, however, I’m cool with taking, because I need it to cook the mountains of raw meat in my inventory. I take my leave of the tower and continue the final leg of the journey to Bleak Falls Barrow.

The rest of day ten will be continued in a second post.

One response

  1. Joao

    Looking forward to part 11,I play skyrim myself and also got a Nord which I roleplay with,and another Nord who does non-adventures.Also got a magician and a guy with daedric armour and the daedric warhammer or whatever the name is.

    I’d like to see more episodes per week though 🙂

    February 20, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Leave a Comment

